Weather Report - Sweetnighter (1973)

이번 앨범은 Weather Report 의 세번째 앨범인 Sweetnighter 입니다.
(Live in Tokyo 는 Live 앨범임으로 정규 앨범에서 제외)

Track List

1. "Boogie Woogie Waltz" (Zawinul)– 13:06
2. "Manolete" (Traditional)– 5:58
3. "Adios" (Madriguera, Woods)– 3:02
4. "125th Street Congress" (Zawinul)– 12:16
5. "Will" (Vitouš)– 6:22
6. "Non-Stop Home" (Shorter)– 3:53

총 6개의 곡이 들어 있으며 앞서 소개해드린 3개의 앨범에 비해서는 상당히 대중적으로 듣기가 편해졌습니다.
특히 1번 트랙의 Boogie Woogie Waltz 나 4번 트랙의 125th Street Congress 의 경우 12분이 넘는 상당히 긴 곡임에도 늘어짐 없이 꽤 신선한 자극의 연속으로 이루어져 있습니다.

자세한 리뷰야 뭐 제가 잘 알지 못하므로 allmusic 에 있는 리뷰 적어봅니다.

Right from the start, a vastly different Weather Report emerges here, one that reflects co-leader Joe Zawinul's developing obsession with the groove. It is the groove that rules this mesmerizing album, leading off with the irresistible 3/4 marathon deceptively tagged as the "Boogie Woogie Waltz" and proceeding through a variety of Latin-grounded hip-shakers. It is a record of discovery for Zawinul, who augments his Rhodes electric piano with a funky wah-wah pedal, unveils the ARP synthesizer as a melodic instrument and sound-effects device, and often coasts along on one chord. The once fiery Wayne Shorter has been tamed, for he now contributes mostly sustained ethereal tunes on soprano sax, his tone sometimes doubled for a pleasing octave effect. The wane of freewheeling ensemble interplay is more than offset by the big increase in rhythmic push; bassist Miroslav Vitous, drummer Eric Gravatt, and percussionist Dom Um Romao are now cogs in one of jazz's great swinging machines.

    * #2 on the Billboard Jazz Albums chart (1973)
    * #41 on the Billboard Top R&B Albums chart (1973)
    * #85 on The Billboard 200 chart (1973)
    * Jazz Group of the Year at the 38th Down Beat Readers Poll


    * Josef Zawinul - Electric and acoustic piano, synthesizer
    * Wayne Shorter - Soprano and tenor sax
    * Miroslav Vitouš - Electric and acoustic bass
    * Eric Gravatt - Drums (tracks 2, 4 and 6)
    * Dom Um Romão - Percussion

    * Muruga Booker - Percussion
    * Andrew White - Electric bass (tracks 1, 4 and 6), English horn (tracks 3 and 5)
    * Herschel Dwellingham - Drums (tracks 1, 2, 3 and 6)

이 앨범에서 제가 들려주고자 선택한 곡은 Boogie Woogie Waltz 입니다.
이 앨범에서는 Boogie Woogie Waltz 와 125th Street Congress 두 곡이 그래도 젤 많이 선호되는데 조금이라도 듣기 편한 곡을 정하려하니 125th Street Congress 보다는 Boogie Woogie Waltz가 조금 더 좋을듯 싶더라고요.

Posted by DanielKang Trackback 0 : Comment 4

댓글을 달아 주세요

  1. addr | edit/del | reply Favicon of BlogIcon Anki 2010.11.22 23:58

    음악 틀어놓고 블로깅하는 중...
    잘 듣고 있습니다~~~ㅎㅎ

    • addr | edit/del Favicon of BlogIcon DanielKang 2010.11.23 01:49 신고

      ㅋㅋㅋ 잘 듣고 계시다니 블로깅한 보람이 느껴집니다만..
      그냥 틀어 놓고 블로깅을 즐기기엔 조금 무리인 음악 아닌가요? ^^;;;;;;

  2. addr | edit/del | reply Favicon of BlogIcon 선민아빠 2010.11.24 11:33

    삼실이라서 들을수가 없네요 ㅠㅠ

    • addr | edit/del Favicon of BlogIcon DanielKang 2010.11.25 02:03 신고

      크~~ 근데 사무실에서 듣기엔 곡이 좀..... 버거울수도 있는 곡입니다. ^^;;